letter to heaven.5

April 18, 2015 § Leave a comment

Dearest Inay,

It’s been a while since I’ve written to you. In fact, it’s been a while since I’ve written anything of worth. I miss you a lot. I was imagining addressing you in poetry, but I’m afraid my thoughts are all in prose.  Rhymeless prose.  The only song in my head when I think of you is the last song you ever heard.

I finally asked Ama that question that I’ve always wanted an answer to.  It was a selfish question that I could not bring myself to ask for quite some time until after you passed away.  But I wanted an answer, and I wanted it in words.  I asked him if you missed me when I was away.

You see, I know there’s an obvious answer to that, but there’s a difference in answering my own questions to someone else answering them for me.  Especially when the question is independent of me, but whose answer I am dependent on.  He told me you were always crying and you thought that you’d never see me again. To say that I felt a pang of guilt is an understatement. Yet it was a stark contrast to the neutral, brave front you always showed me whenever you called me in Skype.  Sometimes I recall you with silent longing – a memory that performs a brief waltz in my head.  Sometimes it’s in the middle of the night when I wake up in tears – succumbing to the treachery of my dreams.  Sometimes, it is exactly as now – when tears still well up from my eyes and all that can comfort me is writing.  Truly, there is nothing like going home to a mother, to a mom, to a nayoti, to a naychi, to a baby buddha – to half of everything that stood for all the past and present and future strength I had, have and will ever have.  When the going gets tough, it’s easier to be tough and get going if you know your parents have your back.  I miss knowing I have someone to tell my fears to, without being embarrassed about it.  Ironically though, I rarely did that with you.  In truth, we operated with a constant buffer to maintain emotional normality.  If I count the number of times we both broke down in tears at the same time, I can only even remember two.  The times I broke down, you always consoled me with your firm trust and resolve.  The times you broke down, I always encouraged you to have faith and stand right back up.  But I always believed that you felt my thoughts and knew my feelings.  You probably just denied me of the superficial comfort derived from wallowing in self-pity; and wisely at that.  It’s how I learned to follow suit.  But now when I find myself breaking down, it’s hard for me to look for the same solid ground that you always made sure I stood on.  I’m stuck in this limbo looking for you.  Floating among old memories and flashbacks. Immobile and overwhelmed with an inconsolable loneliness. It is a brief paralysis, but it is a stroke of reality.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading letter to heaven.5 at by my two feet.

meta

