core values

September 4, 2013 § 2 Comments

first draft.

Finally, years after reading the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, I actually wrote down my core values.

IMG_20130904_150054

1.  Love

The reasons for choosing love are both vague and straightforward.  I think love is essential to be the person I want to be.  Although it encompasses too many things, I think there is no better word to remember all those important values than this.  Humility, kindness, generosity, forgiveness, acceptance, they all boil down to love.  When I do anything to anyone, it should always be because of love and not for any other reason.  I will not motivate myself with success, fame or fortune, but only with love.

2.  Habits

Initially, I wanted to write down excellence.  But excellence felt like such a high goal for me.  Not that I didn’t see myself in being capable of excellence, but I wanted to set a goal that would be more imaginable.  The definition of excellence can also be problematic if it leads me to the wrong habits.  In choosing habits, I want to keep in mind that whatever I repeatedly do will be who I am.  And yes, I took it from Aristotle’s “We are what we repeatedly do.  Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.”  It’s a reminder to choose to give my best every time, to refrain from pessimism and procrastination, to be always optimistic and productive. To make these things habits rather than just special occasion choices.

3.  Action

No amount of thinking and analyzing and writing will be of value if I take no action.  To make my dreams come true, I need to live them out by taking concrete steps.

4.  Improve

This word will be my feedback mechanism to always choose to be better.  It’s easy to not choose being worse.  But choosing between the usual and the better is not always that easy.  I need to always choose to improve for the better, and never choose just to get by.  In deciding, it shouldn’t be between which is easier, but which will lead to improvement.


Dear future Christine, I am writing this today on the 4th of September, 2013.  You want to be a good person. Believe me.  Do not get lost in the trivial, do not get blinded by riches, do not get fatigued by the ravages of everyday living, do not be mean and do not be depressed.  Your life is a gift and you can do anything with it.  So choose to be a blessing, and choose to be wise.  Choose to be humble, and choose to be optimistic. In the end, you answer to God and to no one else.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to core values

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading core values at by my two feet.

meta

