letters

June 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

I wrote a lot today.

In between taking care of my mom, I managed to finish 20.  I’m not yet even done with my list.  :) I feel like I want to write to everyone but I’m out of envelopes! :( It’s easy to write letters when you feel loved.  Or when you’re in love.  I used to think I lost this ability forever when I lost…that.  Letters just reminded me of too many things.  I couldn’t write anything sincere for quite some time.  I wanted to burn a whole lot of them, but I think I’m past that stage and leaving them will suffice.  (It’s the memories that are hard to forget actually, but we’ll get there)  Finally though, I’m glad I can write letters again without having any references to my own heart break.  It’s ironic that I was not blessed with beautiful handwriting when I have so much beautiful things to write to people. :( haha. I wonder how many illegible words I’ve written succeeded on being the perfect anticlimax.  I’m planning on writing my mom a letter every month already. :)

Anyway, today I realized I’ll survive all the heartaches as long as I have my friends. :) I’ve been looking for love at the wrong place when it was all over me in the first place.  So in this case, the reason why I can write so much letters again is because I feel loved.  Writing is such a wonderful exercise.  You get to remember all the little things that make you love a certain person, and you get to let that person feel loved.  It has a positive effect on both parties…well as long as the letter is positive. haha.

I will always live with the belief that life is too short to pass off telling people how much they mean to you, when they do.  Tomorrow will not always be there, and a simple “thank you” can make a big difference.  If this is the only meaningful purpose I can fulfill in this life, I will go on doing it until the day I die.  Even if it means risking looking like an overly-sentimental baby.

And so what if I am?

letters

Happiness is like a butterfly which, when pursued, is always beyond our grasp, but, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.

– Nathaniel Hawthorne

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading letters at by my two feet.

meta

