I don’t want more wrinkles

July 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

Recently, it seems like everything I’ve been hearing about is problems.  Problems of nations, problems of other people, and inevitably my own problems.  It’s expected anyway, problems never go away.  Most people have this way of creating problems out of anything.  Maybe a dent in their car, or spilled coffee right before they begin their day at the office.  Some people can even amazingly make a problem out of apparently nothing, like the agony of why he didn’t put a smiley in his message.  But often, real problems do come by like the loss of something important like a job or money, or divorce…and the frustration and depression that comes with such situations are understandable.  However, what about our daily petty agonies that we waste so much time mulling about? If there wasn’t a single problem in the world, then nobody would have a job.  So the existence of problems is therefore necessary and the excessive energy we pour worrying about all of them is therefore wasted.  Let’s be honest though, it’s not always easy to look at the bright side.  There are a lot of times that we unfortunately convince ourselves that the only bright side is if everything goes as how we want it to go.  It’s also not easy to get over and let go of some things.  It’s easier to just let all the negativity pour in rather than make an effort to look for the positive thing about it.  The second law of thermodynamics, I guess.haha.  But I’ve since learned that you just need to talk to sensible people to wake up and realize that you’ve got your perspective all wrong.  That it isn’t the end of the world (and there are other people out there!) But choosing who to talk to is important, because there are people who can add up to your misery, and what you want is someone who will tell you how utterly stupid your misery is, pick yourself up and move on.  Life is a rocket running on infinite fuel while traveling the continuous vacuum.  In other words, it will not wait for you.  As John Lennon aptly said, “life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans”.  I think someone else said “life is what happens while you’re busy worrying about it”, I just can’t remember who. haha.  My point is, I am writing this post to myself, and I am thankful for my friends for making me realize this.  :)

This makes me remember times when I drive my mom.  My mom is easily agitated by reckless drivers, which we are abundant with here in the metro.  When someone cuts me, she’s the one who gets mad.  Sometimes she’ll even reach over the wheel and push the horn herself if I refuse to do so.  When I was starting to drive, I was almost the same with her.  I’d curse under my breath when buses act crazy and use the horn in every possible occasion.  There was even a time I thought I was going to die because of driving, and just the thought of practice driving with my dad made my stomach turn over.  But after reading something from my favorite “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” book, I tried an exercise of just letting these small things go.  If I encounter crazy people on the road, I just think that “he probably did that because he has an emergency, and if it isn’t the case, then he’s gonna learn his lesson sooner or later”.  It worked and my mom has been reaching over more frequently.  hahaha.  Now how to get my mother adopt this mind frame, I think that involves making her sit in the back.

 

§ 2 Responses to I don’t want more wrinkles

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I don’t want more wrinkles at by my two feet.

meta

